IndiaOnline playstore
05:22 AM | Sat, 25 Jun 2016

Download Our Mobile App

Download Font

Myanmar to form new election commission

88 Days ago

su 28316

Nay Pyi Taw : Myanmar's parliament on Monday approved formation of a five-member new Union Election Commission to handle affairs of the next general election five years later. Proposed by president-elect U Htin Kyaw, the new union election commission is headed by U Hla Thein, with U Aung Myint, U Soe Ye, U Tun Khin and U Hla Tint as members, Xinhua reported.

The last union election commission, chaired by U Tin Aye for the 2015 general election, was formed by U Thein Sein's government. In the presidential election after the general election on November 8, 2015, U Htin Kyaw of the National League for Democracy (NLD) won the presidency. He is the first civilian leader after more than 50 years of military rule.

He is also a close ally of Aung San Suu Kyi, whose NLD party swept to victory in historic elections in November. U Myint Swe of the military was elected as the first vice president and U Henry Van Thio of the NLD, the second vice president.  (IANS)

Viewed 61 times
  • E-mail
You might also want to read

Our Media Partners

app banner

Download India's No.1 FREE All-in-1 App

Daily News, Weather Updates, Local City Search, All India Travel Guide, Games, Jokes & lots more - All-in-1