आपकी जीत में ही हमारी जीत है
Promote your Business

Apex court upholds disqualification of 17 Congress-JD(S) MLAs of Karnataka


In other important decision, the apex court today upheld the disqualification of 17 Congress-JD(S) MLAs by the then Karnataka Speaker but allowed them to contest the upcoming by-polls to be held on 5th of December.

The court, however, struck down the portion of the Speaker's order by which the legislators were disqualified till the end of the term of 15 Karnataka Assembly.

The court said, if elected in by-polls, these disqualified MLAs can become Ministers or hold public office.

The top court passed the verdict on petitions filed by the disqualified MLAs.

In July this year, 17 MLAs were disqualified by the then Karnataka Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar based on the complaint of Congress and JD (S).

The absence and resignation of these MLAs from the Assembly during the trust vote led to the collapse of then Kumaraswamy-led Government. (AIR)

240 Days ago

Download Our Free App

Advertise Here