A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Chaitra Navratri

BJP, Congress announce candidates for Tripura Assembly Elections


BJP today declared the name of candidates for 48 seats for the upcoming assembly election of Tripura. Chief Minister of Tripura Dr Manik Saha will contest from the Town Bordowali constituency. The name of the first list of candidates was finalised by the BJP Central Election Committee.

Briefing reporters in New Delhi, party spokesperson Sambit Patra said, the name of candidates in the remaining 12 assembly seats of the state will be announced soon. He said, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Tripura is making a stride in overall development. Mr Patra said, twenty-five lakh residents of Tripura are being provided free ration under PM Garib Kalyan Yojana.

Congress has announced a list of 17 candidates for the ensuing assembly elections in Tripura. The party has fielded Sudip Roy Barman from the Agartala seat, while Ashish Kumar Saha will contest from the Town Bordowali constituency. The names of the candidates were selected by the Central Election Committee of Congress. The Assembly Elections in Tripura will be held on the 16th of February and the counting of votes will take place on the 2nd of March. (AIR NEWS)

440 Days ago