A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

BJP sweeps Assembly Elections in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh & Rajasthan


In Rajasthan, BJP has secured a clear majority in the assembly elections. Out of the total 199 seats, BJP has won 115 seats, Congress 69 seats, Bharat Adivasi Party got three seats and Bahujan Samaj Party won two seats and one seat each by Rashtriya Lok Dal and Rashtriya Loktantrik Party. Eight independent candidates have also won the election. Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot won at Sardarpura constituency. State president of Congress Govind Singh Dotasara, party leaders Sachin Pilot and Shanti Dhariwal also secured their seats. BJP leader and former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje registered victory at Jhalrapatan. Out of seven BJP MPs who contested the election, four MPs Rajyavardhan Rathod, Diya Kumari, Balaknath and Kirodi Lal Meena have won, whereas Devji Patel, Narendra Kumar and Bhagirath Choudhary have been defeated.

After the declaration of results, Ashok Gehlot reached Raj Bhavan and submitted his resignation to Governor Kalraj Mishra. The incumbent Chief Minister said, he humbly accepts the public's decision and congratulated the new government. BJP leader and former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje said, this victory of BJP in Rajasthan is a victory guaranteed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. State BJP President CP Joshi expressed his gratitude to the people of the state for giving BJP a clear majority. He said, the hard work and dedication of the workers has become the basis of victory.

In Madhya Pradesh, the ruling BJP has won a clear majority in the state Assembly winning 163 seats. Congress has won 66 seats. One seat has gone to others. This is BJP's biggest victory in MP in the last two decades. In 2003, BJP came to power in Madhya Pradesh for the first time with 42.5 percent votes. In 2008, the party received 37.6 percent and in 2013, 44.9 percent votes. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan has won the election from Budni Assembly seat by a record of more than one lakh 5 thousand votes. Mr. Chouhan has expressed gratitude to Prime Minister Modi and the Ladli Bahna for the bumper victory.

In Chhattisgarh, the BJP is all set to regain power after five years. The party has won 54 seats. The ruling Congress got 35 seats. Nine ministers of the Bhupesh Baghel government lost the election while only three incumbent ministers managed to win.

Incumbent Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel got elected from the Patan seat by over 19 thousand votes but Deputy Chief Minister T S Singhdeo lost his seat by a mere 158 votes from Ambikapur. Former Chief Minister Dr. Raman Singh, state party President Arun Sao, Amar Agrawal, Lata Usendi, O P Choudhury, Lakhanlal Devangan and Neelkanth Tekam have won their seats for the BJP. The party incharge Om Mathur who reached Raipur this evening said, the party's central leadership will decide the Chief Ministerial candidate in the state. He thanked the voters of the state for showing trust to the promises made by Prime Minister Modi. State BJP President Arun Sao also asserted that the party would fulfill the poll promises.

Congress leader and party in charge Kumari Selja said, the party would review the result of Chhattisgarh. She congratulated the BJP for winning the polls in the state.
Incumbent Chief Minister Baghel has submitted his resignation. After meeting the Governor in Raj Bhawan, he tendered his resignation tonight.

In Telangana, the Governor Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan has accepted the resignation of Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and asked him to continue in office till a new government is formed. The Congress has won 64 of the 119 seats. The ruling BRS, which was hoping for a hat-trick of victory, got 39 seats. The BJP ended up at the 3rd position with eight seats. The AIMIM won 7 seats. CPI in alliance with Congress won the lone seat it contested. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao won from Gajwel but lost in Kamareddy. PCC president Revanth Reddy won from Kodangal but lost from Kamareddy's seat. Venkataramana Reddy of BJP won the Kamareddy seat. BJP leader Etela Rajender lost both seats in Huzurabad and Gajwel.

Addressing the media conference in Hyderabad, AICC In-charge in Telangana Manikrao Thakare said, that Congress top leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi campaigned well and ‘all senior leaders collectively fought the election. PCC president Revant Reddy said the victory is for the people of Telangana. He dedicated the victory to the Martyrs of the separate state movement. He said 6-guarantees will be implemented as assured by the Congress party in the state. He thanked CPI, CPM, and Telangana Jana Samiti.

Of the six MPs who contested the elections, Congress' Uttam Kumar Reddy, Revanth Reddy and K. Venkat Reddy won the elections while three BJP MPs, Bandi Sanjay, Dharmapuri Aravind and Soyam Bapurao lost.

Meanwhile, Congress leaders will meet the Governor tomorrow and request her to invite the party to form the government. (AIR NEWS)

87 Days ago