आपकी जीत में ही हमारी जीत है
Promote your Business

Campaigning for 2nd phase of Jharkhand assembly elections ends today


In Jharkhand, campaigning for the 2nd phase of Assembly elections will come to an end today. Twenty assembly constituencies spread over seven districts will go to polls in this phase on Saturday. Voting would take place in East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum, Saraikela-Kharsawan, Ranchi, Khunti, Gumla and Simdega districts.

On the last day of campaigning, Chief Minister Raghubar Das, BJP working President Jagat Prakash Nadda and senior party leader and Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath, will hold public meetings.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha working President Hemant Soren, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha President Babulal Marandi, All Jharkhand Students' Union Chief Sudesh Kumar Mahto and RJD leader Tejaswi Prasad Yadav are also scheduled to address election rallies.

AIR correspondent reports that commitment towards protection of rights of tribal people over water, forest and land, issues of reservation and employment are the main poll planks of almost all political parties in this phase.

Excluding Jamshedpur East, Jamshedpur West and Baharagora, sixteen constituencies are reserved for tribal candidates whereas Jugsalai seat is reserved for Scheduled Caste community. 260 candidates, including 29 women, are in the fray.

In poll-bound 20 assembly seats, 18 constituencies are naxal- affected. Elaborate security arrangements will be made at polling stations. Out of 5,784 polling booths, 1,844 are critical.

The polling process for 81-member Jharkhand Assembly will be completed in five phases between the 30th of November and the 20th of December. Counting of votes will be held on the 23rd of this month. (AIR)

242 Days ago

Download Our Free App

Advertise Here