आपकी जीत में ही हमारी जीत है
Promote your Business

Campaigning for 3rd phase of Jharkhand assembly elections ends


Campaigning for the third phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections ended this evening.

17 Assembly constituencies spread over eight districts will go to the polls in this phase on Thursday.

The districts which go to polls in this phase are Ranchi, Hazaribagh, Giridih, Bokaro, Chatra, Ramgarh, Saraikela-Kharsawan and Koderma.

Due to security reasons, the polling process would be completed in 12 constituencies between 7.00 AM to 3.00 PM. In the remaining five assembly segments- Ranchi, Hatia, Kanke, Ramgarh and Barkattha, the polling would continue till 5.00 P.M.

In the third phase, a total of 309 candidates including 32 women are in the fray.

In this phase, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha is contesting on all 17 seats while BJP has fielded 16 candidates. The opposition alliance of the Congress on nine, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) on six and Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) is contesting on two seats.

All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) is contesting on 14, Bahujan Samaj Party on 15 and CPI has fielded 09 nominees. Besides this, 99 independent candidates are also in the fray.

BJP candidate and state Urban development minister CP Singh, education minister Neera Yadav, All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) party chief Sudesh Mahto, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha President Babu Lal Marandi, former state minister and trade union leader Rajendra Prasad Singh, former chairperson of state women commission and litterateur Mahua Maji are prominent candidates whose electoral fortune will be decided in this phase.

On the last day of campaigning leaders of all political parties remained busy in hectic public meetings and election rallies.

Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Senior BJP leader Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Shibu Soren, Hemant Soren and star campaigners of other parties held several meetings and rallies today.

In the third phase, all the parties raised issues in tune with their political milieu and base during public meetings and rallies.

BJP leaders tried to encash their contribution towards good governance and political stability in the state. Besides this abrogation of article 370, Ram Mandir Ayodhya and National Citizenship Register (NRC) issue almost remained part of every BJP campaigner’s address.

Congress, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and RJD alliance consistently raised problems of employment, agriculture and problem of tribal land acquisition during their campaigns.

The polling process for the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly will be completed in five phases. Counting of votes will be held on the 23rd of this month. (AIR)

242 Days ago

Download Our Free App

Advertise Here