Campaigning gears up for 3rd phase of Lok Sabha elections


Campaigning is gaining momentum for the third phase of Lok Sabha elections. Voting in this phase will be held in 116 constituencies, across 13 states and 2 Union Territories, on Tuesday.

These include, all 26 constituencies of Gujarat, 20 in Kerala; 14 each in Maharashtra and Karnataka; 10 in Uttar Pradesh; Seven in Chhattisgarh; Six in Odisha; five each in Bihar and West Bengal; Two in Goa, One each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Tripura.

Election to Tripura (East) constituency was postponed to the third phase for security reasons. BJP President Amit Shah and Congress President Rahul Gandhi are scheduled to address rallies in Gujarat today. Mr Gandhi will also hold public meetings at Raichur and Chikodi in Karnataka.

In Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav and BSP Chief Mayawati will hold a joint rally in Mainpuri. They are sharing the dias after a gap of almost 25 years.

In Assam, Senior BJP leader Sarbanand Sonowal, Northeast Democratic Alliance Chairman Himanta Biswa Sarma, Congress leader and former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, state Congress President Ripun Bora are holding rallies and road show for the party candidates. Polling will be held in Guwahati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar seats in the third phase. 54 candidates are in the fray.

Meanwhile, filing of nominations for the fifth phase ended yesterday. 51 constituencies, spread over seven states, will go to polls on the 6th of next month. Scrutiny of nominations will be held tomorrow, with Monday being the last date for withdrawal of candidature. (AIR NEWS)

Download Our Free App