आपकी जीत में ही हमारी जीत है
Promote your Business

Counting of Votes begins for bypolls in Karnataka


Counting of Votes has begun for bypolls to 15 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka. Counting started at 8 AM and results are expected by the evening. Postal ballots are being counted first, which will be followed by votes in EVMs.

The results of the by-elections are crucial for the four-month-old BJP government in the southern state, as the ruling party requires at least six seats in the 223-member Assembly for a simple majority. An Independent MLA is already supporting the Yediyurappa government. At present, BJP has 105 MLAs, Congress 66 and JD-S 34 members in the assembly.

Around 67.9 per cent polling was recorded in Thursday's bypolls. Byelection was necessitated following the resignation of 14 Congress and three JD-S MLAs. Bypolls in two seats - Muski in Raichur district and RR Nagar in Bengaluru southwest were not held due to a litigation in the Karnataka High Court on their results in the May 2018 Assembly elections.

The BJP and the opposition Congress contested all 15 seats, while JD-S fielded its candidates for 12 seats. (AIR)

244 Days ago

Download Our Free App

Advertise Here