A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Disturbed Areas status under AFSPA lifted from jurisdiction of another four Police Stations in Manip


The Disturbed Areas status under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 has been lifted from the jurisdiction of four more Police Stations in Manipur.

Manipur Chief Minister N. Biren Singh conveyed thankfulness to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah for acknowledging the sentiments of the public of Manipur and bringing peace and normalcy in the State.

The new four police Stations from the Disturbed Areas status have been lifted are Nambol, Leimakhong, Moirang and Wangoi Police Stations. Earlier the government has lifted the status from the jurisdiction of 15 police stations and now the status is no more implemented in altogether 19 police stations of Manipur.

Speaking to media persons last evening, Shri Biren said that under the guidance of Prime Minister and Union Home Minister, Manipur has witnessed progress in development and peace.

Many unlawful insurgency groups and cadres have joined mainstream society. Therefore, the government has been able to lift the Disturbed Areas status from the jurisdiction of more police stations, he added. (AIR NEWS)

66 Days ago