Promote your Business

Historic tripartite agreement signed between Centre, Assam govt and nine factions of NDFB


The Centre today signed an accord with the banned Assam-based insurgent group National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB). The tripartite agreement was signed in the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal.

Joint Secretary in the Home Ministry Satyendra Garg, Assam Chief Secretary Kumar Sanjay Krishna and the top leadership of the four factions of the NDFB signed the agreement.

The accord will provide for some political rights to the Bodo tribals living in Assam and some economic package for the community. It is the third Bodo accord to be signed in the last 27 years when the violent movement for a separate Bodoland state.

The first Bodo accord was signed with the All Bodo Students Union (ABSU) in 1993, leading to the creation of a Bodoland Autonomous Council with limited political powers.

In 2003, the second Bodo accord was signed with the militant group Bodo Liberation Tigers (BLT), leading to the formation of a Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) with four districts of Assam, Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baska and Udalguri, called the Bodoland Territorial Area District (BTAD).

The BTC was formed under the 6th Schedule of the Constitution. The demand for a separate state for the Bodos has been going on in Assam for about five decades. (AIR NEWS)

65 Days ago

Video News

Download Our Free App