Mary Kom, Shiva Thapa win gold medals at India Open International Tournament


Six-time world champion MC Mary Kom and the seasoned L Sarita Devi spearheaded India's gold rush at the second India Open boxing tournament, which is scheduled to conclude this evening.

Asian Games gold medalist Amit Panghal thwarted a spirited challenge from Sachin Siwach with a well-calculated display to clinch the gold by a split 4-1 verdict in the highly-competitive 52 kg men's category.

Overall, 9 Indian boxers have won the Gold medal. Deepak defeated Govind Kumar in 49 kg final. In women's 54 kg, Jamuna Boro defeated Sandhyarani and also qualified for the World Championship.

In men's 69 kg Aashish clinched the Gold while in women's 60 kg L Sarita Devi won the gold medal. In women's 57 kg category Neeraj won the final while local girl Lovlina Borgohain lost to Italy's Colin Louis. In 56 kg, Kavinder Singh Bisht lost to Thailand's opponent in the final. Matches are being held in 18 categories. (AIR NEWS)

Download Our Free App