A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

President Droupadi Murmu confers 54 Padma Awards for year 2023


President Droupadi Murmu today conferred 54 Padma Awards for the year 2023, at a Civil Investiture Ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan. She conferred three Padma Vibhushan, four Padma Bhushan and 47 Padma Shri awards.

President Murmu presented Padma Vibhushan to S M Krishna in the field of Public Affairs. Padma Vibhushan was also conferred on Prof Balkrishna Doshi (Posthumously) in the field of Architecture.

The President presented Padma Bhushan to Kamlesh D Patel in the field of Spiritualism. He is the founder of the Heartfulness Movement and has developed Kanha Shanti Vanam, which is home to one of the world’s largest meditation centres. She presented Padma Bhushan to Kapil Kapoor in the field of Literature and Education.

He is known for striving to indigenise higher education by integrating Indian knowledge systems and establishing dedicated Institutes. Suman Kalyanpur received Padma Bhushan in the field of Art and Chairman of the Aditya Birla Group - Kumar Mangalam Birla in the field of Trade and Industry.

The President Murmu also conferred Padma Shri awards on Chintalapati Venkatapathi Raju, Bandi Ramakrishna Reddy, Mangala Kanta Roy, Manoranjan Sahu, Kota Satchidananda Sastry, Gurcharan Singh, G. Veluchamy, Karma Wangchu, Laxman Singh, Prakash Chandra Sood, Neihunuo Sorhie, S. Subbaraman, Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari, Dhaniram Toto and Ghulam Mohammad Zaz among others.

Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Home Minister Amit Shah, Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Singh Thakur along with several other dignitaries were present on the occasion. (AIR NEWS)

433 Days ago